Curry Chronicles: You Must Be His Daughter — Part II

DISCLAIMER: These are my experiences, shared by me, as they happened to me. People in these true event(s), may not remember them in the same way. Certain facts can be agreed upon by all parties, nevertheless. I met Tim Curry, in New York, on August 28, 1987. Beyond that, I do not, in any way, suggest, hold or express that anyone else experienced this event in any paranormal, psychic or unusual way. That is how my experience of the event(s) happened, though.

 

TC reminded me of something deep in my soul . . . a soul mate, yes, but more than that! A long-lost love, friend, brother, father, a voice in my very soul, a guide, a comfort and the spirit which accompanied me through lifetime after lifetime in so many ways. Crazy maybe, certainly it couldn’t hurt to meet him, to befriend him or to date him.

The psychic informed me of several past lives: TC had been my brother in one lifetime, my husband in another. These lives seemed to bring out memories in me. I wondered; would I remind TC, too? Would he feel a spark with me, too? Or was all this just my wishful thinking?

I had this dream that night:

I was walking, coming up on the Marriott Marquis. There were billboards on the front of the hotel, all photographs from Me and My Girl. People where everywhere. Of course, that is the way it is in New York.

Standing still, in front of one of the photos of Jim Dale (the Broadway star, at the time, playing the lead in Me and My Girl) was a man. His back was to me as he looked at the photos. I recognized it was Tim Curry, anyway.

I moved closer, through the crowd toward the back of TC. Suddenly, I was aware I was dreaming.

As I reached TC, put out my hand to tap him on the shoulder, he turned around and said, brightly,Hello, my angel! I’m here!”

Here?” I repeated, “…at the Marriott?”

He grinned, “I’m here.”

We did this back and forth a few times.

I woke up feeling energized, truly connected.

It was time to meet the man!

The next day, awake and happy, I just knew it was time: I went to find my friend Perry.

Perry had been working, as an usher, at Cats since it opened.

My intuition was so strong now; I knew that had changed after years.

Not too long before, Dream Girls are re-opened in NY. My instincts told me:

1)    Tim Curry had seen Dream Girls

2)    Perry had moved to usher at Dream Girls

3)    Perry had seen Tim Curry there, tried to contact me.

NOTE: Perry Dell ’Aquila and I met at AADA. In 1987, I hadn’t kept in good contact. I would stop by Cats from time to time, still, I had moved and he didn’t have my new phone number. It has been awhile since I stopped by Cats.

As I walked past the Winter Garden Theater and to Dream Girls, knowing Perry had moved – I went to the stage door of the Dream Girls theater.

Is Perry here?” I asked a crew member.

He told me, “He went on break, probably be back soon.”

Any minute!” I just knew it.

As I went to the front of the theater, Perry was walking toward me, a huge smile on his face!

Perry started, “I was trying to call you on Thursday night! You already know, right?”

Perry is well aware of my intuitive nature, and ties to TC. “Yeah, Tim was here, at the show.”

Then, I heard what happened! TC didn’t see the show. He was in the lobby all evening with his niece! She had taken ill right before the show and told her uncle to stay and watch the show. But, Tim, being a good loving uncle wasn’t going to leave her alone in the lobby.

Perry also told me, he nearly called my name upon seeing Tim and his niece. Apparently, I look just like his niece!

It makes sense, since in 1985, at a Rocky Horror 10th Anniversary convention, I was asked several times if it was “true” that I am “Tim Curry’s niece”!

To this day, I have no clue who may have started this rumor. It certainly wasn’t me! My feelings for TC were not familial. Definitely not! Of course, I was a bit skeeved out watching Clue. TC does look remarkably similar to my mother’s brother, Curly, in the film. I am not, in any way, attracted to my Uncle Curly!

I asked Perry, about his sighting of TC and his niece. “Where would the cast for a Broadway tour be rehearsing?” Certainly, Perry would know.

He gave me two possible addresses, saying the use one of the two. One was a downtown address; the other was called The Minskoff Rehearsal Studios.

Minskoff’s address: 1515 Broadway!!!

Remember, those big glass doors with the escalator inside going to the movie theaters? Minskoff Rehearsal Studios is RIGHT NEXT DOOR to the Marriott Marquis MM.

August 28, 1987: I’m going up one of those escalators at 1515 Broadway, to an elevator to—what? The third floor! The security guard, on the third floor, observed me enter the acting rehearsal studio lobby. He said nothing, went back to reading his book.

I suspect my appearance much like any other young actor coming to rehearse. Tim was there, somewhere, too.

Like an angel calling in the mist, I heard his voice, singing . . . from just down the hall!

I went to a near-by bench, to sit down and wait for TC to finish his rehearsal.

Hearing TC’s voice coming down this corridor, this elderly man and woman came out of an archway which leads to a hallway. The hallway where TC’s voice was floating into my ears and soul.

The woman, in a thick English, laugh-like voice, bellowed, “Oh darling! You must be here to see Tim Curry?!”

She hugged me! The kind man, also with a thick English accent, jollily, “Yes, he will be here shortly!

Seeing as I wasn’t wearing any badges, shirts or pins, which showed my obsession with TC, I wondered how they knew and asked, “How did you know?!”

The woman curiously said, “You look just like him! You must be his daughter!”

My only response, “He has a daughter?!”

The man said, “We thought you were!” with a bit of seriousness, “You’re going to scare him, then!”

Scare him? Why would I scare TC? I was very well-mannered, I thought.

The couple explained to me that fact I looked just like him would scare him as he would think the same thing . . . I look too much like him.

I asked the most important question at that point, “Is there any other way Tim can leave this building?”

My thought was he’d skip out another exit.

As if I stepped into a Monty Python film, the older gentleman replied, “Only if he jumps out the window!”

I laughed nervously.

Leave a Reply

