Day Seventy (70): Mother’s Day: To My Incredible Mom – Verna

Day Seventy (70): Sunday, May 9th, 2010

70) Lessons From Buddhism

Buddhism teaches that suffering arises when people are attached to their desires. In Buddhism, whether good or bad happens, it is not God or the Creator causing those things but karma. Every thought, word, and act has a consequence, according to Buddhists. A person must let go of attachment, be still and observant, and discover what is real and what is not.

Some say that the way to happiness and harmony is to simply observe whatever thoughts arise, whatever circumstances and situations life brings to you, and whatever happens, whether good or bad, avoid all reaction and attachment. In other words, be a witness to life’s joys and agonies, without responding, reacting, or getting entangled. This way to peace has resonance in Buddhism.

From 365 Ways To Live The Law of Attraction by Meera Lester

Fredy & I had a good cry today . . . we watched Bicentennial Man.

Although some people panned this film . . . it is very, very moving. I saw it when it came out. This was Fredy’s first time watching it. It is so sad and beautiful.  

My screenplay, Sometimes Gay Mean Happy, which I’m transposing into a play was supposed to be read today. I postponed the reading a few days ago as many people are celebrating Mother’s Day today.

I had a cast set, but people kept canceling. I am very picky about my actors. The reading is for the group I’m involved with Source Writers at Manhattan Theatre Source. I’m also on the Production Team for the group. We are going to produce two full-length plays a year from the Source Writers group.

Many of the members of the group have been produced and won awards, too. Of course, some of my goals, too.

Happy Mother’s Day to my mom, Verna Collins Sanford now.

My mother never gets on the computer . . . doesn’t know how, yet. I would have to teach her and she’d have to buy one now.

Anyway, I love my mother, now she is 78-years-old and still crazy. Her story is incredible and I am working on a book about her adventures. She was born during the Great Depression on December 23rd, 1931, in Ohio. She grew up in Ashland, Kentucky and Columbus, Ohio area’s. One of the first of her 14 siblings (she was 4th) to graduate high school.

I’ve started a book on a website about her adventures in the Army in the 1950s and will expand on it soon.

The Wackiest WAC

Click here and you will see the book . . .

Love, Light & Laughter

Angela Theresa

Leave a Reply

